LRDC #THIS Week New Music Playlist 11/3

Tuesday, November 3rd, 2015

Okay guys, if you see the first track, and you’re familiar with that band, you know that that song is not exactly new. School of Seven has not put out new music since a tragic death in the band of one of the two members. The last music we saw from them is the song above, but why I include this is because the remaining member, Alejandra Deheza, has committed to releasing the last new music that her and her bandmate recorded together. A great time to be alive indeed and a great time to have reverence for those we lost too young!

Hearing new music from a band that people (and time) have forgotten but you have remembered is always a great feeling! It feels like only the true fans are left now and you can enjoy the music without hearing it on every radio station. This is how I feel with Miike Snow and hearing his new song “My Heart is Full.” This is not a sad attempt to stay relevant. This track shows a new side of Snow that almost sounds as if Kanye produced it. It’s a bit of a mini-masterpiece to me, so I hope you enjoy it as well.

Chillwave? Yeah, I’m into it. Kaptan? Yeah, I’m into it. I saw this track premiered on Buzznet and I couldn’t not put it on my list. I’m so predictable…so much so that I more than a couple tracks on this week’s list could be classified as chillwave, like Craft Spell’s “Our Park by Night” is a funky pitch-bending track that would be a great track to listen to in the pouring rain late at night. Perfect for a night like tonight in Los Angeles. Want a bit more glitch and two step with a little reggae thrown into your chillwave? You know I like to tick all the boxes! Feel free to shake your dreads to Coast Modern’s single “Hollow Life.” This is some of the most unique music I could see actually getting really popular. Only time will tell on that one.

Let’s put the spotlight on two bands that have four letters in their band names (one I’ve featured before and the other a newcomer to LRDC) that are destined for greatness. Of course I’m talking about GEMS and TOPS. Both of these bands can hold their own in the electo-indie realm and I love every single thing I have heard from them. “Soak,” from the former came out last week with a rather provocative video that fits the song perfectly. The latter band has a new single, “The Hollow Sound of Morning Chimes,” that exudes soft rock that you could find in the 70’s and maybe into the 80’s. This song is not your typical guitar-tripping (though those are tight), destined for corporate office elevator song. The song begs for you to interact with it, to feel it, to be in the moment; it’s ethereal. It’s a great feeling, and while the song is rather long, it ends a bit suddenly and seemingly too soon….just like this post.

Enjoy,

-Greg

One comment on “LRDC #THIS Week New Music Playlist 11/3

  1. […] Snow. I’ll admit, I was very much in for the last single I featured over a month ago on LRDC 11/3/15, but this track, entitled “Genghis Khan,” I am ALL THE WAY IN for!!! It’s […]

Leave a Reply

