LRDC #THIS Week New Music Playlist 11/17

Tuesday, November 17th, 2015

This week is such a treat for you and you don’t even know it yet, but you’re about to! We have some BIG returns from some bands we haven’t heard from in a minute. The first and most important is going to School of Seven Bells with new music coming from one half of their band, Alejandra Deheza. After losing Benjamin Curtis, her good friend and bandmate to lymphoma, it’s hard to deny that this music that will be released going forward means a ton to Alejandra and the fans (including me). Getting to the track, it’s exactly what you would expect from SVIIB and while their music is often emotional, this is will really tug at your heartstrings and “you’ll fall in love again.”

Okay, pull yourself back together, I’m so sorry to start you off on such a down note! Let’s steer from the sad and focus on the hopeful, and this will come in the form of a new track from The Big Pink called “Hightimes.” This is the first new music we’ve seen from the English duo since 2012 and I’m absolutely stoked. The first song I heard from them is a banger, and while this doesn’t hit quite as hard, it’s freaking beautiful and I love it.

I’ve been prone to man crushes and oftentimes they aren’t even based on looks. Oftentimes they are based on the amazing thing that I’m hearing the man produce. One such example of this is Rostam Batmanglij (I know, winner of the sickest name ever, right), and his several projects. Some you may have heard of, like Vampire FREAKING Weekend and a personal favorite of mine, Discovery. He has teamed up with Ra Ra Riot (like he did for Discovery with Wes Miles) to make a silky smooth track called “Water.” I’m also fully aware that I always feature some sort of track that has to do with water, but maybe this is what makes them amazing, you ever think of that? Excited to hear from both of the contributing parties to this song as this may be the closest I’ll get to Discovery for a while.

Honorable mentions are as follows:

Givers – “Bermuda” – This band is it, they have such a dialed in sound with a great mix of synth, unique percussion, all with a traditional rock band set up. Looks like this is their first new music since 2011 and as I’m finding them just now, I have to say “it’s about damn time.” I would really love to see them perform their stuff live.

Bibio – “Petals” – Bibio has now made it back to the list. I actually had to into the wayback machine to see that I had actually posted on them in ’14. The same sentiment I have for him still stands, the music this man produces I can only compare to a beautiful painting full of texture and color.

Classixx ft. T-Pain – ” Whatever I Want” – Chill, islandy synth with the auto-tune king himself on the track? I’d call it a winning combo AND Classixx is from Los Angeles, so good ish all around! This one is going to be in my rotation for a LONG time.

Missy Elliot ft. Pharrell Williams – “WTF (Where They From)” – New freaking music from Missy??? She’s still got it!

Enjoy, party people!

Leave a Reply

